Skip to main content

Create Security Groups For Your Organization

How To Set Up Security Groups For Your Firm Members In SurePoint Pro

E
Written by Eddie Jackson

Overview

Practice Pro (formerly ZenCase) will create two system security groups for your organization by default: Admin and User.

  • The Admin security group will have access to everything in the system.

  • The User security group will have access to their own member's information in the system.

Create Your Own Security Group

You must have "Create" permission for Security Groups and you will see a button for "Add Group" at top left corner of the Firm Settings > Security Groups page.

  • Click on your name in the top right corner of the page

  • Click "Firm Settings"

  • Click "Security Groups" tab

  • Click "Add Group"
    ​Note: Alternately, you can "Clone" an existing security group. From the "Actions" column, click on the squares icon button to clone an existing security group.

  • Enter a new security group name

  • Click "Save"

  • You will now see your security group page on the screen.

  • Enter description

  • Under "General Security", you can select from the following options for each resource type:

    • Create

    • View

    • Update

    • Delete

    • View/Modify Own

    • Import

    • Export

  • Under "Matter Security", you can select from the following configurations:

    • Matter Security

      • Allow members to restrict another member's access to a matter

    • Matter Security Override

      • Allow members to override the security for a matter

    • Client Transfer

      • Allow members to transfer a matter to another client

  • Under "Report Security", you can select from the following reports:

    • Client A/R Aging & Matter A/R Aging

    • Receipt Allocations

    • Collections Overview

    • Client Invoices & Payments

    • Task Budgets

    • Time Entries (Calendar view)

    • Time Entries By Matter

    • Time Entries By Member

    • Trust Balances

    • Custom Reports

      • Custom reports allow viewing of reports created for your firm by Practice Pro (formerly ZenCase approved consultants

  • Under "LEDES Billing Security", you can select from the following configuration:

    • LEDES Billing

      • Allows members to configure LEDES billing options for a matter

  • Under "Billing Rate & Amount Security", you can select from the following configurations:

    • Billing Rates

    • Allow members to view bill rates on time entries, expenses and charges. When not selected, the Rate, Bill Rate and Adjusted Rate fields and columns are hidden on the time entry form, the Time & Expenses list and Suggestions, Bulk Edit Charges, the Matter, Contact and Member Charges tabs, and the Charges panel.

    • Billing Amounts

    • Allow members to view calculated amounts (hours × rate) on time entries, expenses and charges. When not selected, the Amount, Subtotal, Discount, Total, Adjusted Total and Allocated Amount fields and columns are hidden in the same places, along with the total, billed, paid and due amounts on the Matter Charges tab. The Amount filter is also hidden on the Time & Expenses list and the Matter, Contact and Member Charges tabs.

  • Under "Trust Transactions", you can select from the following option:

    • Client Balances

  • Under "QuickBooks Security", you can select from the following option:

    • Notifications

      • Allow members to receive QuickBooks notifications when QuickBooks is enabled for your organization

Add Members To Your Security Group From Security Group Page

Once you create a security group, you can add members to your new security group. You must have "Update" permission for Security Groups and you will see a button for "Edit" under the "Actions" column.

  • Click on your name in the top right corner of the page

  • Click "Firm Settings"

  • Click "Security Groups" tab

  • Under "Actions", click the pencil icon to "Edit" the security group

  • On the security group page, select a member from the "Add Member" dropdown on the right side of the page

  • After selecting a member, click "Add"

  • Confirm with "Add Member" or "Cancel" to cancel action

  • Your member should now be added to the security group.

Bulk Add Members To Your Security Group From Members Page

Once you create a security group, you can add members to your new security group. You must have "Update" permission for Security Groups and you will see a bulk action for "Edit Security Group".

  • Click on your name in the top right corner of the page

  • Click "Firm Settings"

  • Click "Members" tab

  • Select checkbox all the members you want to update the security group

  • Click "Bulk Action"

  • Click "Edit Security Group"

  • In the pop up window, select the Security Group from the dropdown selection

  • Click "Save"

  • Your members should now be added to the security group.

Delete a Custom Security Group

To delete a custom security group, click the Delete icon in the Actions column.

Please Note - Before deleting a custom security group, all members must be removed or reassigned to another security group. If you attempt to delete a group that still contains members, the system displays a warning message indicating that the group cannot be deleted while members remain assigned.

Once all members have been removed or moved to other security groups, the custom security group can be successfully deleted.

Did this answer your question?